Boise State Public Radio Wins 6 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Apr 18, 2013

Credit RTDNA

The Radio Television Digital News Association has awarded Boise State Public Radio six of 13 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

Boise State Public Radio news director Sadie Babits was elated upon seeing the news. “I couldn't be more proud of our journalists,” said Babits. “They've worked incredibly hard over the past year to bring quality radio and digital content to our audience and these awards are well deserved."

Founded in 1971, the awards recognize the best work in radio, digital and television news. RTDNA said a record number of entries were submitted this year. Boise State Public Radio entries were judged with radio stations in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington and Alaska. The winners in each category will now compete for national recognition at the Edward R. Murrow Awards presented in New York later this year.

“These awards are a testament to the hard work, dedication, and professionalism among our reporters,” said Boise State Public Radio general manager John Hess. “They place BSPR at the very top of news organizations in our region.”

The awards go to…

Continuing Coverage: Election 2012

Reporters: Samantha Wright, Adam Cotterell, Molly Messick, Emilie Ritter Saunders, Frankie Barnhill

Editors: Sadie Babits, Scott Graf

Feature Reporting: A Closer Look At K9s

Reporter: Samantha Wright

Editor: Sadie Babits

Hard News Reporting: Why Idaho’s Doctor Shortage Won’t Be Easy To Solve

Reporter: Emilie Ritter Saunders

Editor: Chris Swope, Sadie Babits

Sports Reporting: Pelota: Basque Sport Keeps Community Culturally Connected

Reporter: Sadie Babits

Editor: Scott Graf

Writing: A Rancher, A Logger, And Economic Fate In Rural Idaho, Tiny Idaho Town Ponies Up, But Its School Still Suffers, After The Wind Boom, A Fight Over Idaho’s Energy Future

Reporter: Molly Messick

Editor: Sadie Babits

Website: Boise State Public Radio

Craig Morgan, Sadie Babits, Adam Cotterell, Samantha Wright, Scott Graf, Emilie Ritter Saunders, Molly Messick,  and Frankie Barnhill