Boise State Public Radio Honored For 4 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

May 12, 2020


Credit RTDNA

Boise State Public Radio News has won three regional 2020 Edward R. Murrow Awards and contributed to a fourth, along with the Mountain West News Bureau.

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), which oversees the awards, announced winners of the regional contest Tuesday.

Named after the famed 20th century journalist, Edward R. Murrow, the awards recognize the best in journalism – radio, television and online – among both commercial and non-commercial media. Boise State Public Radio's entries were judged alongside small-market submissions from Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.


"Our reporters do phenomenal work all year and it's an honor to have their great journalism acknowledged this year by this prestigious organization," said BSPR news director, Sáša Woodruff.


General manager Tom Michael said,"These wins are in highly competitive categories, especially here in Region 1, across five Western states. The newsroom has grown to meet many challenges this past year."


The winning entries are:

Breaking News: Idaho Sen. Jim Risch Refuses To Talk About President Trump

  • Reporter: Heath Druzin

Sports: Fall Is The Season For Wheelchair Rugby With The Boise Bombers

  • Reporter: Samantha Wright


  • Boise State Public Radio News team

In addition to these Region 1 wins, LOCKED, the investigative podcast and radio series about a ground-breaking Idaho legal case won the podcast category, for large-market radio in Region 3. The podcast was a collaboration between the Mountain West News Bureau and the station's newsroom in Boise. It was hosted by Amanda Peacher, the regional reporter for the bureau in Idaho, and edited by Kate Concannon, the bureau's managing editor.


Regional collaborations like the Mountain West News Bureau are required to compete in the region with their largest station partner, which meant the large-market radio category in Region 3, with Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming.


Each of these regional award winners will move on to compete against other regional winners in a national competition. The RTDNA will announce national Murrow Award winners in June.