Boise State Public Radio’s Website Named Best In The Country

Jun 12, 2013

Boise State Public Radio’s website has been named the best in the country by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA). The organization announced Wednesday, the winners of the 2013 national Edward R. Murrow Awards. These awards honor the highest caliber journalism being produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

Credit Courtesy of RTDNA

Boise State Public Radio (BSPR), Idaho’s largest NPR affiliate station, won for best website for small market radio.  “This marks the first national Edward R. Murrow award in our station’s history,” explained news director Sadie Babits. “Think of the Emmys. This is electronic journalism’s equivalent. These awards are given in the spirit of the excellent journalism that Edward R. Murrow was known for.”

The station will receive the award at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City October 14, 2013. More than 90 awards will be presented. “To be recognized nationally for the news we produce online every day is a huge milestone for a station of our size," said BSPR general manager John Hess. "I couldn’t be prouder of our news team and our entire station.”  

There are less than 10 full time staff in BSPR’s news room. Over the radio, the station’s news signal KBSX 91.5 FM can be heard throughout the Treasure Valley and into the Sun Valley area and McCall.

"These awards are given in the spirit of the excellent journalism that Edward R. Murrow was known for," explained News Director Sadie Babits.

The station’s program director Paul Stribling adds, "With all-things-digital having become such a vital part of the news landscape, it is quite an honor to receive this national recognition for our online news efforts here in the Treasure Valley. The BSPR news team deserves all the credit for making great strides this year toward the organization's digital transition."

"This year's winning entries were outstanding examples of electronic journalism at its finest," said Mike Cavender, RTDNA executive director. "Our judges faced many difficult decisions to select winners from so many high-quality submissions." 

There were a record number of award entries submitted this year. Here’s the complete list of winners for the 2013 National Edward R. Murrow Awards.