Mountain West News Bureau Wins 3 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Apr 24, 2019

Credit RTDNA

The Mountain West News Bureau has won three regional 2019 Edward R. Murrow Awards.

Established in 2018, the Mountain West News Bureau is a collaboration of public media stations that serve the Rocky Mountain states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Utah and Wyoming.

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), which oversees the awards, announced winners of the regional contest Tuesday.

Named after the famed 20th century journalist, Edward R. Murrow, the awards recognize the best in journalism – radio, television and online – among both commercial and non-commercial media.

"We're just thrilled to be honored with three regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in our first year as a regional journalism collaboration," said Kate Concannon, managing editor for the Mountain West News Bureau. "We're a small team covering a huge region — it's a place that's been traditionally underserved by news media, so it's wonderful to have our work recognized in this way.

The winning entries are:

Sports Reporting: Do Politics Go With Football? 50 Years Ago Wyoming's Black 14 Said Yes

  • Reporter: Maggie Mullen, Wyoming Public Media

Feature Reporting: Evicted And Homeless, This 14-Year-Old Describes Every Day As 'A Fight'

  • Reporter: Amanda Peacher, Boise State Public Radio

Excellence in Writing: How Pokemon Inspired A Citizen Science Project To Monitor Tiny Streams; Death And Politics Collide Yet Again In This Year's Election; A Tour Of Public Lands: Canyoneering In Utah

  • Reporter: Rae Ellen Bichell. KUNC

Each of these regional award winners will move on to compete against other regional winners in a national competition. The RTDNA will announce national Murrow Award winners in June.

The Mountain West News Bureau was created with start-up funding from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. The stations cover a combined coverage area of more than 400 million acres.