For Second Consecutive Year, Boise State Public Radio Wins 5 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Apr 19, 2016

Credit RTDNA

Boise State Public Radio's KBSX newsroom has won five regional 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards, presented annually by the Radio Television Digital News Association, were announced Tuesday.

Boise State Public Radio's entries were judged alongside submissions from Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.

“I’m especially pleased with this year’s list of winners,” News Director Scott Graf says. “Every single member of our news staff was involved in the winning entries. These awards symbolize KBSX’s dedication to telling important and interesting stories.”

Boise State Public Radio Interim General Manager Peter Morrill noted the wins came in both radio and online reporting.

"It is gratifying for Boise State Public Radio to have been commended by the 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards," Morrill says. "Good journalism, crafted for both radio and the web, demonstrates our staff's depth and professionalism."

The winning entries are...

Continuing Coverage: Boise's Homeless Crisis At Cooper Court

  • Lead Reporter: Adam Cotterell & Boise State Public Radio news team

Feature: Why A Remote Lodge In Idaho's Backcountry Is Being Resurrected

  • Reporter: Frankie Barnhill

Hard News: How Idaho Cops Protect Kids From Internet Predators

  • Reporter: Samantha Wright

Use Of Sound: An Idaho Man Teaches Bird Watching To Blind Students

  • Reporter: Samantha Wright

Website: Boise State Public Radio

  • Boise State Public Radio news team

Each of these regional award winners will move on to compete for national recognition at RTDNA's annual awards banquet in New York City in October of 2016.