Toast Of The Nation 2019

Dec 31, 2018

Celebrate the arrival of 2019 with jazz from Toast of the Nation. Each hour of this broadcast was originally recorded live in 2016 at renowned Blue Note venues around the world.

Christian McBride hosts the six hours of live music, providing New Year's messages throughout. Whether you're at a swinging party or a mellow celebration, these performances provide the perfect complement to your holiday festivities. Listen to each hour individually or line up all six as a countdown to midnight.

Joshua Redman and Brad Mehldau were recorded at Blue Note Tokyo, Buika at B.B. King Blues in Times Square, The Dirty Dozen Brass Band at Blue Note Hawaii, Dee Dee Bridgewater at Blue Note Napa, the Ron Carter Quartet at Blue Note New York and pianist Fred Hersch at Blue Note Beijing.

Joshua Redman, saxophone; Brad Mehldau, piano.

Recorded at Blue Note Tokyo on Oct. 13, 2016.


  • "Jedediah"
  • "Let's Call This"
  • "My Ideal"
  • "The Oneness of Two (In Three)"

Buika, vocals; Josué Rodriguez Fernandez, bass/backup vocals; Michel Ferré, keyboard/backup vocals; Santiago Cañada Valverde, trombone/backup vocals; Alexis Arce, drums/percussion/backup vocals; Ahmed "King" Barroso, music director/guitar/vocals; Ramón Porrina, cajon/percussion/backup vocals.

Recorded at B.B. King Blues Club in Times Square on Oct. 13, 2016.


  • "Vivir sin miedo"
  • "Si volveré"
  • "Nostalgias"
  • "Siboney"
  • "Volverás"
  • "En el último trago"
  • "Unnamed"

Roger Lewis, baritone sax; Gregory Davis, trumpet; Kevin Harris, tenor sax; Efrem Towns, trumpet/flugelhorn; Kirk Joseph, sousaphone; Julian Addison, drums; Takeshi Shimmura, guitar.

Recorded at Blue Note Hawaii on Oct. 11, 2016.


  • "It's All Over Now"
  • "Mardi Gras in New Orleans"
  • "Paul Barbarin's Secondline"
  • "E Flat Blues"
  • "When the Saints Go Marching In"
  • "Superstition"

Dee Dee Bridgewater, vocals; Edsel Gomez, piano; Michael Bowie, bass; Kenny Phelps, drums.

Recorded at Blue Note Napa on Nov. 19, 2016.


  • "Love for Sale"
  • "Dear Ella"
  • "Fine and Mellow"
  • "Slow Boat to China"
  • "Cotton Tail"
  • "One Fine Thing"
  • "Treme"

Ron Carter, bass; Renee Rosnes, piano; Javon Jackson, tenor sax; Payton Crossley, drums.

Recorded at Blue Note Hawaii on Nov. 28, 2016.


  • "595"
  • "Mr. Bow Tie" (based on "Seven Steps to Heaven")
  • "Bach Cello Suite #1 Interpretation"
  • "You Are My Sunshine"
  • "My Funny Valentine"
  • "You and the Night and the Music"

Fred Hersch, piano; Johannes Weidenmueller, bass; Eric McPherson, drums.

Recorded at Blue Note Beijing on Oct. 28, 2016.


  • "Everybody's Song but My Own"
  • "Dream of Monk"
  • "Skipping"
  • "Serpentine"
  • "Miyako"
  • "Black Nike"
  • "Blackwing Palomino"
  • "Let's Cool One"
  • "We See"
Copyright 2018 WBGO. To see more, visit WBGO.