© 2021 Boise State Public Radio

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact us at boisestatepublicradio@boisestate.edu or call (208) 426-3663.
NPR in Idaho
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
What is the single most important question about COVID-19 you think needs to be answered? Submit it for a special Idaho Matters Doctors Roundtable in English and Spanish.
Politics & Government

Idaho House Introduces Bill To Ban Conversion Therapy For Minors

John McCrostie for District 16

Idaho could become the latest state to outlaw conversion therapy for minors under a new bill introduced Monday morning.


Conversion therapy is a practice discredited by major mental health organizations that promises to repress homosexuality or the expression of someone’s gender identity.

In 2009, the American Psychological Association found insufficient evidence that it works.

House Assistant Minority Leader John McCrostie (D-Garden City), who is openly gay, introduced a bill that would ban mental health professionals in Idaho from offering conversion therapy to anyone under 18 – something he’s unsuccessfully pushed for the past three years.

“Survivors of conversion therapy are at high risk for attempting suicide, suffering extreme depression, abuse of alcohol and/or illicit drugs and risky sexual behavior,” McCrostie said.

State code defines a mental health professional as a physician, professional counselor, psychologist, social worker or a nurse.

Anyone who violates this proposal, if it becomes law, could have their professional license suspended or revoked.

Like a law that went into effect in Utah last month, it would exempt clergy and family members, as long as they were not acting in their capacity as a mental health worker.

Nineteen states and Washington D.C. have already banned conversion therapy.

Rep. John Vander Woude (R-Nampa) unsuccessfully moved to quash the bill before it was introduced.

Vander Woude, House Majority Caucus Chair Megan Blanksma (R-Hammett) and Rep. Chad Christensen (R-Ammon) were the only committee members to vote against it.

Follow James Dawson on Twitter @RadioDawson for more local news.

Copyright 2020 Boise State Public Radio