© 2024 Boise State Public Radio
NPR in Idaho
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Roger Eno: Tiny Desk (Home) Concert

The Tiny Desk is working from home for the foreseeable future. Introducing NPR Music's Tiny Desk (home) concerts, bringing you performances from across the country and the world. It's the same spirit — stripped-down sets, an intimate setting — just a different space.

Roger Eno's home is part of what once formed an 11th-century abbey called St. Wilmott's, situated on the border of Norfolk and Suffolk near England's southeastern coast. The bucolic setting mirrors Eno's quiet, slowly evolving music which, for this Tiny Desk (home) concert, features five pieces from his new album The Turning Year.

Eno refers to his process as "decomposing," taking the time to strip away all nonessentials to finally arrive at something more pure and perhaps more powerful. He opts for quality over quantity. Every note, carefully chosen, seems to have its own preeminence.At an old upright piano — with the sustain pedal firmly engaged — Eno taps out his slender but potent melodies, gently conducting his string players as they float above and between the notes, providing color and warmth.

While there's an Erik Satie-inspired Zen quality to "A Place We Once Walked," with its seesawing rhythm, the feather-light notes of "Something Made Out of Nothing" recall the deep ambient spaces that Eno created with his older brotherBrian on their 1983 albumApollo: Atmospheres & Soundtracks. In his writing about The Turning Year, Roger Eno says he thinks of these pieces as "a series of short stories or photographs of individual scenes, each containing their own character."

To close the performance, Eno introduces his two daughters Cecily and Lotti who sing an arrangement of "Bells." On the album, it's a typically wistful Eno piece for solo piano, but the harmonizing voices here give the music a lullaby quality — and offer up a taste of what it must be like to make music with the Eno family.


  • "Clearly"
  • "The Turning Year"
  • "A Place We Once Walked"
  • "Something Made Out of Nothing"
  • "Bells" (feat. Cecily Eno & Lotti Eno)

  • Roger Eno: piano, composer
  • Zahra Benyounes: violin I*
  • Venetia Jollands: violin II*
  • Stephen Upshaw: viola*
  • Reinoud Ford: cello*
  • Cecily Eno: vocalist, vocal arrangement on "Bells"
  • Lotti Eno: vocalist
  • *London Contemporary Orchestra

  • Dave Meyer: Camera operator, editor
  • Neil Foster: Camera operator
  • Dylan Barber: Sound engineer
  • Recorded at St. Wilmott's Abbey (Roger Eno's/Bee Eno's Home), Suffolk

  • Producer: Tom Huizenga
  • Video Producer: Kara Frame
  • Audio Mastering: Josh Rogosin
  • Tiny Production Team: Bob Boilen, Bobby Carter, Joshua Bryant, Michael Zamora, Maia Stern, Ashley Pointer
  • VP, NPR Music: Keith Jenkins
  • Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann
  • Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

    Tom Huizenga is a producer for NPR Music. He contributes a wide range of stories about classical music to NPR's news programs and is the classical music reviewer for All Things Considered. He appears regularly on NPR Music podcasts and founded NPR's classical music blog Deceptive Cadence in 2010.

    You make stories like this possible.

    The biggest portion of Boise State Public Radio's funding comes from readers like you who value fact-based journalism and trustworthy information.

    Your donation today helps make our local reporting free for our entire community.